Just got word from Associated Press Sports Editor Terry Taylor that the AP has decided to hold a re-vote for the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. The decision comes three days after the NFL announced that 2009 Rookie of the Year Brian Cushing will be suspended the first four games of the 2010 season for violating the NFL's steroids policy.

Cushing claims he took a non-steroid product that he tested positive for last September. However, he lost his appeal in Febuary, and the league informed him on Friday that he would be suspended the first four games.

He won the AP vote in a landslide, capturing 39 first-place votes. Bills safety Jairus Byrd finished second with six votes.

Cushing remains eligible to win the award on the re-vote, which will be taken among the 50 media members on the AP panel. Full disclosure: I am one of the voters.

Which player will I select? Well, I want to give this some more deliberation, because there are several worthy candidates, including Byrd, Packers linebacker Clay Matthews and Redskins linebacker/defensive end Brian Orakpo.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

But I can tell you one player I won't vote for: Cushing.

Sorry, you cheat, you don't get my vote.