The USGA and R & A jointly issued a wise decision this morning, amending the rules of golf. It's a victory for common sense.
The gist of it is that, if a golfer commits an infraction he or she didn't know they committed--specifically one that comes to light after a TV replay--the golfer will be assessed only a two-stroke penalty and will not be disqualified for having signed an incorrect scorecard.
Padraig Harrington was the most high profile example of the old rule this year, when he was DQd. Golf officials realized that with today's technology--TV cameras are everywhere and golf fans can call, text, email and Tweet from anywhere--golfers are vulnerable to all kinds of second-guessing after they have finished their rounds.
At least now, they will be able to keep playing.