TODAY'S PAPER
57° Good Morning
57° Good Morning
SportsGolf

Dustin Johnson gracious on wrong end of history

      Credit to Dustin Johnson for being mature and stoic enough to speak about being on the wrong sides of one of the most bizarre endings in major championship history.

         Johnson was assessed a two-stroke penalty when it was revealed that he had grounded his club in a well traversed bunker on No. 18 at Whistling Straits. So, after the fact, he learned that he finished fifth rather than in a tie for first and a playoff with Martin Kaymer (the champion) and Bubba Watson.

           He thought he was in a sandy area of worn out grass. But it was ruled he was in a bunker. You can't ground your club in a bunker. He was surrounded by spectators on the course that was a poor choice to host a major

        “Walking up there, seeing the shot, it never once crossed my mind that I was in a sand trap,” Johnson said in Doug Ferguson's Associated Press story. “It’s very unfortunate. The only worse thing that could have happened was if I had made the putt on that last hole.”

           I give Johnson credit for explaining himself. I had thought it was very weak on his part not to talk to reporters after his colossal collapse in the final round of the U.S. Open

Comments

We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports