Trying to breathe some life into a first round gone bad, Phil Mickelson attempted to drive the 331-yard, par-4 fourth hole, but his tee shot wound up in a long bunker fronting the right side of the green. Mickelson's long bunker shot stayed in the bunker, but he might have broken the rules when he started to smooth the sand.
The question is whether the ball already was back in the bunker and whether Mickelson's foot smoothed the lie at that point. A replay showed he stopped himself from improving the lie, but it was uncertain whether his foot already had touched the sand. Playing partner Padraig Harrington listened to Mickelson's explanation and absolved him, but it's possible there will be a review before Mickelson finishes and a final ruling in the scoring trailer before he signs his card.
Without a penalty stroke, Mickelson took a bogey on the hole to drop to +4 through 13 holes.