TODAY'S PAPER
40° Good Morning
40° Good Morning
SportsGolf

Ruling: No penalty for Phil Mickelson

USGA officials told Phil Mickelson he won't be penalized for starting to smooth his lie in a bunker at No. 4 after hitting a shot that stayed in the bunker. It would have been a shame to penalize him for improving a lie he wasn't going to be hitting out of again.
 

 

Mickelson remains at +4 through 14 holes with four left to play on the front side.

Comments

We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports