Few Clouds 27° Good Morning
Few Clouds 27° Good Morning

Yet another snafu for Michelle Wie

Michelle Wie's young career has been marked as much by controversy as victory.

Today's round in the Kia Classic was the latest episode of quite some drama. She was penalized two strokes for grounding her club, a costly penalty.

Her resopnse: "I thought it looked differently than -- they interpreted it differently than what I felt. I knew that I did ground the club, that was a fact, but that was the only fact.
I did call for a ruling; I knew I did that, but at the same time I knew that I felt off-balance. I closed my eyes when I hit the shot and I ground my club so I wouldn't fall into the water. I was wearing a white skirt.

"You know, that happens, I accept it. I accept the fact that it is a penalty stroke, you ground a club in the water hazard, that happens, but the fact is that, you know, I felt like I was off-balance, and that's why I grounded the club, and they ruled, and there is nothing I can do about it."

 Wie was five shots out of the lead at La Costa when the incident happened, so it didn't have an impact on the outcome (Hee Kyung Seo won by six). But it sure did steal the show on Golf Channel.


New York Sports