58° Good Afternoon
58° Good Afternoon
SportsHigh SchoolBoys Lacrosse

Tewaaraton Award nominees announced

North Carolina attackman Billy Bitter rounds the crease

North Carolina attackman Billy Bitter rounds the crease defended by Johns Hopkins long pole Tucker Durki. (April 3, 2011) Photo Credit: John Strohsacker /

Ten native Long Islanders (five men, five women) have been nominated for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award, which is given to the top collegiate lacrosse player in the country.

North Carolina's Billy Bitter (Manhasset), Notre Dame's Zach Brenneman (East Hampton), Duke's Zach Howell (Huntington), Cornell's Rob Pannell (Smithtown West) and Maryland's Ryan Young (Manhasset) are among the 25 male nominees.

Canada natives Jay Card and Kevin Crowley represent Hofstra and Stony Brook, respectively.

Penn's Erin Brennan (Garden City), William & Mary's Grace Golden (Manhasset), Stanford's Lauren Schmidt (Bay Shore), Northwestern's Shannon Smith (West Babylon) and Loyola's Kerry Stoothoff (Bayport-Blue Point) are among the 24 women.

The 11th annual award will be presented on June 2, 2011, in Washington, D.C.

The complete list of nominees can be viewed here. The list will be whittled down to five finalists in May.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

More high schools