58° Good Evening
58° Good Evening
SportsHigh SchoolCross Country

Boys cross country preview

Kris Moran of North Babylon wins the boys

Kris Moran of North Babylon wins the boys 3000 meters during the Suffolk High School Indoor Track Championships Saturday in Brentwood. (Feb. 12, 2011) Photo Credit: John Dunn



East Meadow could have a special season with nine of its top 10 runners back, including Sean Grady, Brad Kaufmann, Dave Carey and Mike Grady.

With five runners returning, led by Brian Benesch, Bryant Babel and Rich Gold, Oceanside will present a stiff challenge.

Port Washington is looking for a return to the top and has Taylor Titcomb, Sid Kakkar and Ryan Schwartz leading the way.

With seniors Dom Esposito and Brendan Nyreen and juniors Kyle Smith and Ryan Cooney, Massapequa should not be overlooked. Herricks could surprise with talented senior Aakaash Pillalamarri as well as Jack McGuire, Mike Dolan and Gabe DaSilva.



Manhasset is poised to make a run at the county title with Charlie Morris and Stephen Bourguet up front and All-Conference performer Mark Chouryguin back.

Great Neck South returns with a talented senior trio of Nick Ross, Ari Shabu and Parth Patel.



Oyster Bay has three of its top runners back -- Steven Tortora, Nick Mavros and T.J. Butler. Sophomore Jonathan Schloth leads the way for East Rockaway.




Whitman could be the team to beat with Zach Cammer, Mike Damato, Pat Cummings, Nick Denuzzo and Brian Windisch.

Smithtown is in position to have a great season with seniors Rob Calamia, Michael Catalano, Gavin Shulock, Michael Lynch and Michael Emerson.

The senior combo of Joe DiRienzo and Ryan Scarpelli will keep Sachem East in the race.

Kris Moran returns for North Babylon, along with fellow junior Brock Schmidt and newcomers Billy Blatz and Shaun Coyle.

Seniors Matt Cohen and Will Norris will lead Bay Shore, which also is counting on Emmet Farman and Rich Arcuri.



With five of its top seven back, including seniors Austin Coneys, Cameron Coneys, Ty Gamble and Conor Murphy, Harborfields is looking to win its fourth straight county title.

John Antonacci and Adam LaFemina, who took third and fourth at the state qualifier last year, are back for Bayport-Blue Point.

John Lee, Tyler Keys and Evan Purdy are the top three for Shoreham-Wading River.



Andrew Keresztes and freshman James Burke will lead Port Jefferson.

Center Moriches returns five of its top seven runners in John McMahon, Andrew Montefusco, Drew Comanda, Toney McFarlane and Tristan Sess. Southampton looks to contend with Eric Whittenberg, Kevin McCabe and Timmy Squires.



St. Anthony's is once again the favorite, led by Tom Diliberto, Kevin Kreider, Frank Segreto, Jake Hensler and Matt Taddeo.

Thomas Awad is poised to lead Chaminade into contention with help from Joe Ferencik.

Kellenberg has Raul McGee, Simon Tener and Chris Scarallo, while Sean Ferguson, Sean Hall and Paolo Fiore lead the way for St. John the Baptist.



Thomas Awad
Chaminade, Sr.

Brian Benesch
Oceanside, Jr.

Stephen Bourguet
Manhasset, Jr.

Sean Grady
East Meadow, Sr.

Sidharth Kakkar
Port Washington, Jr.

Kevin Kreider
St. Anthony's, Sr.

Charlie Morris
Manhasset, Sr.

Aakaash Pillalamarri
Herricks, Sr.

Nick Ross
Great Neck South, Sr.

Taylor Titcomb
Port Washington, Sr.



John Antonacci
Bayport-Blue Point, Sr.

Rob Calamia
Smithtown, Sr.

Zach Cammer
Whitman, Jr.

Austin Coneys
Harborfields, Sr.

Tom Diliberto
St. Anthony's, Sr.

Joe DiRienzo
Sachem East, Sr.

Sean Ferguson
St. John the Baptist, Sr.

Andrew Keresztes
Port Jefferson, Sr.

John Lee
Shoreham-Wading River, Sr.

Kris Moran
North Babylon, Jr. 


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

More high schools