The Thorp Award, which goes to the outstanding high school football player in Nassau County, is presented annually by Newsday.

The 2013 award will be handed out Dec. 11 at the Nassau football dinner.

Who do you think is the most deserving player this year? Below are seven players to consider, in alphabetical order. Read their accomplishments and then vote in the poll on the right. (Newsday's app users can vote at

Johnnie Akins, Roosevelt, RB/LB – Akins has 30 touchdowns and 2,522 yards on 237 carries and has so far led his team to an 11-0 record and a spot in the Class IV Long Island Championship. A workhorse, he leads Long Island in touchdowns and yards, and scored four touchdowns in the Nassau Conference IV semifinal.

Joe Capobianco, Lawrence, QB – The record-breaking signal caller is up to 97 career touchdowns, an all-time Long Island best, and has thrown for four touchdowns five times this year. He’s thrown for 2,309 yards and 29 TDs this year and ran for three more.

Ray Catapano, Carey, QB -- The senior was brilliant in leading the Seahawks to their first Nassau Conference II title since 1978. Catapano threw an LI-best 35 touchdowns and was only intercepted three times, sparking a high-powered offense that dominated on its way to an 11-0 season, with the Class II Long Island Championship ahead on Friday. Catapano's late 35-yard touchdown lifted Carey to a 20-16 win over Garden City in the county final.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Sean Cerrone, Chaminade, QB -- An accurate passer and a dangerous runner, Cerrone threw for 1,207 yards and nine touchdowns and ran for 10 TDs. He also rushed for more than 100 yards in four games. Cerrone led the Flyers to the CHSFL AAA championship last season and, this year, the league final.

Jordan Fredericks, Lawrence, RB/FS –  Capobianco’s favorite target, he caught 13 touchdowns and carried the Lawrence rushing game, amassing 16 TDs and 1,419 yards on 115 carries. He scored all three of the Golden Tornadoes' touchdowns in their one-point victory against Plainedge in the Nassau III final.

Curtis Jenkins, Farmingdale, RB/DB --The versatile and elusive back has racked up 1,308 yards and 16 touchdowns - on 9.3 yards per carry - leading Farmingdale to a second consecutive Nassau Conference I championship. Jenkins also is a capable receiver and had five TD catches. He ran for 232 yards and three touchdowns and in the Dalers' 29-26 win over Massapequa in the final.

Brett Stewart, Garden City, QB -- An elite dual-threat quarterback, Stewart threw for 1,395 yards and 14 touchdowns and ran for 878 yards and 12 TDs. He led Garden City to the Long Island Class II title last season, and in what was expected to be a rebuilding year, guided the Trojans to the Nassau final this season.

The Thorp Award is in memory of Tom Thorp of Rockville Centre, who played football at Columbia University and Manhattan College and later coached at Stevens Tech, Manhattan, Fordham, Virginia and NYU. Thorp, who was the first president of the Nassau County Football League, was one of the country's leading football officials. He died in 1942.

Compiled by Laura Albanese, Stephen Haynes and Gregg Sarra.