Good Morning
Good Morning
SportsHigh SchoolFootball

Strong Island presence on All-State team

Steven Ferreira of Sayville, who guided the Golden Flashes to a 12-0 record, the Long Island Class III title and the Rutgers Trophy, was named New York State Class A co-player of the year on Wednesday by the New York State Sports Writers Association. Ferreira, who set Long Island career records for passing yards (6,407) and touchdowns (73) in his senior season, shared the honor with Aquinas running back Billy Lombardi.

Ferreira was one of 53 Long Island players represented on various NYSSWA all-state teams in classes AA, A, B and C, including 14-first-team choices. Sayville coach Rob Hoss was named a Class A coach of the year for the second time.

Here is the complete list of Long Island’s 2011 all-state football players:


First-team offense
QB Isaiah Barnes, Freeport, Sr.
RB Stacey Bedell, Floyd, Sr.
OB Michael Richardson, West Babylon, Sr.
OL Omari Palmer, Longwood, Sr.

First-team defense
DL Darius Greene, Longwood, Sr.
LB Evan Kappatos, Syosset, Sr.
LB Ron Denig, Newfield, Sr.

Second-team offense
RB Dalton Crossan, Sachem North, Sr.
OE Jere Brown, Freeport, Sr.
OL Matt Morganelli, Smithtown West, Sr.
OL Matt Biscardi, St. Anthony’s, Sr.

Second-team defense
DL Pat McHugh, St. Anthony’s, Sr.
LB Robbie Healy, East Meadow, Sr.

Third-team offense
OL Ken Berryhill, Freeport, Sr.
OL Aaron Thompson, Deer Park, Sr.

Third-team defense
LB Devante McFarlane, Half Hollow Hills West, Sr.

Fourth-team offense
OL James Manginelli, Newfield, Jr.
OL Mike White, East Islip, Sr.
AP Ryan Slane, North Babylon, Sr.

Fourth-team defense
DL Tyler Rigo, East Islip, Sr.
LB Reggie Robinson, West Babylon, Sr.
LB Miguel Brennin, Floyd, Jr.
DB Tim Stackpole, St. Anthony’s, Sr.

Fifth-team offense
OL Anthony Turano, Massapequa, Sr.
OL Andrew Borruso, Oceanside, Sr.

Fifth-team defense
LB Marc Coles, Floyd, So.
DB Mike Silva, Newfield, Sr.

Sixth-team offense
RB Steve Casali, Sachem East, Jr.

Sixth-team defense
LB Vinny Vitale, Deer Park, Sr.
DB Will Chesire, MacArthur, Sr.
DB Vantrell Nash, Floyd, Jr.


Co-player of the year
QB Steven Ferreira, Sayville, Sr.

First-team offense
OE NickWagner, Glenn, Sr.
OL Mike Gilbert, Garden City, Sr.

First-team defense
DL John Haggart, Sayville, Jr.
DB Mark Ellis, Garden City, Sr.

Second-team offense
OE Eddie Robinson, Lawrence, Jr.
PK Ryan Norton, Garden City, Sr.

Third-team offense
RB Ryan Fredericks, Lawrence, Jr.

Second-team defense
LB Ralph Caccavale, Plainedeg, Sr.

Third-team defense
DB Tom Hannan, Sayville, Sr.

Fourth-team offense
QB Joe Capobianco, Lawrence, So.
QB Rich Czeczotka, Glenn, Sr.
RB Da’relle Hatcher, Brentwood, Sr.

Fourth-team defense
DB Tom Forsberg, Glenn, Sr.

Fifth-team offense
RB Evan Henry, Valley Stream North, Sr.

Fifth-team defense
LB Rob Zorn, Carey, Sr.
LB Eugene Berkery, Garden City, Sr.
DB James Rupp, Sayville, Sr.


First-team offense
RB Erin Parker, Roosevelt, Sr.
OE Alex Rawa, Locust Valley, Sr.

Second-team defense
DL John Libretti, Cold Spring Harbor, Sr.


Third-team defense
DB Thomas Dolan, East Rockaway, Sr.








More high schools