58° Good Afternoon
58° Good Afternoon

Isles' Matt Moulson loses out on NHL's Lady Byng Trophy

Matt Moulson talks to reporters as the Islanders

Matt Moulson talks to reporters as the Islanders clean out their lockers. Photo Credit: Patrick E. McCarthy, 2012

Matt Moulson came away empty handed as a Lady Byng Trophy finalist for a second straight year, losing out to Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis in voting announced on Friday evening by the NHL.

The trophy goes "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

Chicago's Patrick Kane was also a finalist.

Moulson had just four penalty minutes to go with 44 points this lockout-shortened season, after posting only six penalty minutes in a full 82-game season in 2011-12. He lost out to Panthers defenseman Brian Campbell last year.

Pierre Turgeon was the last Islander to win the Lady Byng in 1993. Mike Bossy is a three-time winner.

The NHL will announce the headlining awards prior to Game 2 of the Stanley Cup final on Saturday. John Tavares is a finalist for the Hart Trophy as the league's most valuable player.

Other award winners announced Friday included:

Frank J. Selke Trophy (defense) -- Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Jack Adams Award (coach) -- Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

GM of the Year -- Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award -- Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication) -- Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (leadership, humanitarian contributions) -- Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

NHL Foundation Player Award -- Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings

New York Sports