Good Evening
Good Evening

Lundqvist wins team MVP award

Henrik Lundqvist applauds the fans after the game.

Henrik Lundqvist applauds the fans after the game. (April 7, 2012) Credit: David Pokress

Henrik Lundqvist won the team MVP award for the sixth straight year in a landslide vote by the New York chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Brian Leetch also won the award, which was instituted in 1941-42, six times, but not consecutively. Jaromir Jagr won in 2005-06, which was Lundqvist's rookie season.

Lundqvist, 30, who also is a candidate for the Vezina Trophy, earned his career-high 39th win when he made 37 saves against the Flyers on Tuesday. He held opponents to two or fewer goals in 41 games and posted a career-high shutout streak of 182:33 that ended Feb. 5.

Ryan Callahan, who won the Players' Player Award in 2010-11, again was the recipient this season. Chris Drury won the award, which was instituted in 1958-59, in 2009-10. Callahan, who also won the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award for the third time March 30, posted a career high with 29 goals and is among the league leaders in hits, blocked shots and power-play goals.

The PHWA previously nominated Dan Girardi for the Masterton Trophy and Brian Boyle for the John Halligan Good Guy Award for cooperation with the media.

Kreider on the way?

Chris Kreider, whose Boston College team beat Ferris State, 4-1, in the NCAA championship game Saturday night, is expected to begin negotiations with assistant GM Jeff Gorton on an entry-level contract shortly. Kreider, 21, was the team's No. 1 draft pick in 2009. The 6-3 winger has 49 goals and 92 points in 114 games for the Eagles.

Blue notes

John Tortorella had no comment about his $20,000 fine for criticizing the Penguins . . . John Scott, Jeff Woywitka and Steve Eminger were scratched.

New York Sports