71° Good Evening
71° Good Evening

Rangers' Chris Kreider is racking up points

The Rangers' Chris Kreider celebrates a goal by

The Rangers' Chris Kreider celebrates a goal by teammate Martin St Louis during the second period in Game 2 of the NHL hockey Eastern Conference final Stanley Cup playoff game in Montreal on Monday, May 19, 2014. Credit: AP / Graham Hughes

Chris Kreider is sizzling.

Since returning to the lineup on May 7 for Game 4 against Pittsburgh, the left wing leads the team in goals (four) and ranks second on the team in points (10). Kreider, who missed 19 games with a broken left hand, has a point in four of the last five games, and 10 points (four goals, six assists) in the last eight.

In the second period of Game 5, Kreider became the first Ranger to record three points in one period of a playoff game since Jaromir Jagr had three assists in the first period of Game 3 of the Eastern Conference quarterfinals on April 17, 2007, against the Atlanta Thrashers, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

No more discipline

Although defenseman John Moore was banned for two games, two other players involved in a Game 5 incident did not receive any supplementary discipline. With 34 seconds left, Derek Dorsett head-butted Rene Bourque in the crease, with no call. Bourque later received a cross-checking major for retaliating and a game misconduct at the 20-minute mark.

Carcillo hearing

Dan Carcillo's appeal of his 10-game suspension for elbowing linesman Scott Driscoll in Game 3 will take place with NHL commissioner Gary Bettman Friday. The suspension could be reduced somewhat, but the minimum levy would be three games, according to the rules.

Wales Trophy on display

The silver Prince of Wales Trophy, which is awarded to the winner of the Eastern Conference finals (formerly the Wales Conference) will be in the Garden Thursday night and has some history in New York. It was originally awarded to the winner of the first game played in Madison Square Garden, on Dec. 15, 1925, when the Canadiens beat the New York Americans, 3-1. Since 1974, it has been presented to the Eastern Conference playoff champion. In between, at various times through realignment, it also was given to regular-season, conference and division champions. The Canadiens have won the trophy, donated by the prince who later became King Edward VIII, 25 times, the Rangers three.

New York Sports