36° Good Morning
36° Good Morning

Barry Cofield is a good guy

Mazel tov to Barry Cofield for winning the 10th annual George Young Good Guy Award from the Giants chapter of the Professional Football Writers of America.

Mr. Cofield narrowly edged out my favorite active NFL player, G/C Rich Seubert. Both are deserving candidates, and their cooperation with the news media is much appreciated.

In June I had the pleasure of addressing the Giants' rookie class along with Cofield and radio play-by-play man Bob Papa about the importance of professional behavior and cooperation with the media.

Thanks also to the current generation of beat writers for continuing an award we began many years ago when I was helping run the local chapter.

Here are the previous nine winners, the first four of which I had the honor or presenting with their awards:

2009 -- DE Mathias Kiwanuka
2008 -- QB Eli Manning
2007 -- DE Justin Tuck
2006 – WR Plaxico Burress
2005 -- RB Tiki Barber
2004 -- QB Kurt Warner
2003 -- WR Ike Hilliard
2002 -- QB Kerry Collins
2001 -- OL Lomas Brown

New York Sports