Tracking the championship: UFC flyweight division


The UFC's flyweight division was established in 2011, with the first 125-pound fights coming in early 2012 in the form of a four-man tournament to determine the division's first champion. That first champion is the only champion so far.

Demetrious Johnson

Successful title defenses: 10. Demetrious Johnson became the
(Credit: AP )

Successful title defenses: 10.
Demetrious Johnson became the first UFC flyweight champion when he beat Joseph Benavidez via split decision at UFC 152 on Sept. 22, 2012. In the five years since, Johnson has beaten everyone in his path and become one of the top pound-for-pound fighters in the sport. Only four of his title defenses have gone the distance. Johnson's 10 straight successful title defenses is tied with Anderson Silva (middleweight) for the longest streak in UFC history.

Subscribe to Newsday’s sports newsletter

Receive stories, photos and videos about your favorite New York teams plus national sports news and events.

Sign up

By clicking Sign up, you agree to our privacy policy.

Related Media

UFC president Dana White steps in between featherweight UFC featherweight title history Conor McGregor now has two titles after beating UFC lightweight title history Ronda Rousey of the United States (red) defeats UFC women’s bantamweight title history

Comments now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.

By using this site, you agree to our Privacy policy.