62° Good Afternoon
62° Good Afternoon
SportsMotor Racing

ALMS Northeast Grand Prix at Lime Rock

The American Le Mans Northeast Grand Prix is the fifth round of the 2010 season. The two-hour, 45-minute race is set for 2:05 p.m. ET on Saturday, July 24 from Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Conn. SPEED will air the race live at 2 p.m. ET.

Founded in 1957, Lime Rock Park’s history is awash in sports car racing. The American Le Mans Series first raced at Lime Rock in 2004. But top-level sports car championships such as Can-Am, IMSA GT and Trans-Am have left their marks in Lime Rock’s history books as well. Among the more “seasoned” veterans entered this year include Muscle Milk Team CytoSport’s Greg Pickett (1981 Trans-Am winner) and Robertson Racing’s David Murry (1985 Sports Renault winner) and Andy Wallace.

Eleven drivers entered for this year’s race have won previous Series events at Lime Rock. Jörg Bergmeister is unquestionably the most successful of the bunch with four consecutive GT2 wins – all coming for Porsche. He won with Patrick Long in 2006 (with Petersen/White Lightning) and in 2009 with Flying Lizard Motorsports. He teamed with Johannes van Overbeek (2007) and Wolf Henzler (2008) to win in Lizard Porsches as well.

The other seven previous event winners: Olivier Beretta (2004, 2005 and 2007 GT1); David Brabham (2008 overall and P2); Oliver Gavin (2004, 2005 and 2007 GT1); Jan Magnussen (2008 GT1); Johnny O’Connell (2008 GT1); Simon Pagenaud (2009 overall and P1); and Scott Sharp (2008 overall and P2).

Live radio coverage will be available on American Le Mans Radio presented by Porsche – a production of Radio Show Limited – as well as Sirius Channel 127 and XM Channel 242. Visit the Series’ schedule page for ticket and accommodation information. Live Timing and Scoring, track schedule, entry list and much, much more will be available on Racehub at

Courtesy, American Le Mans Series


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports