Clear 27° Good Afternoon
Clear 27° Good Afternoon
SportsMotor Racing

Jimmie Johnson won his 50th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race

This is courtesy of NASCAR:
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 21, 2010) – Jimmie Johnson won his 50th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway, a rare accomplishment that further solidifies the four-time defending champion’s place among the all-time greats.

Only 11 other drivers have reached the milestone. Three are NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees, six were Hall of Fame nominees, and the other two – Jeff Gordon and Rusty Wallace – will surely join the Hall of Fame nominee list in the future.

Johnson needed only 296 starts to hit the 50 mark. Only three drivers have reached 50 victories quicker – Gordon (232), Darrell Waltrip (278) and David Pearson (293).

Here is the exclusive “50 Wins Club”: All-Time NSCS Wins

Richard Petty  200 ...  David Pearson 105 ... Bobby Allison 84 ... Darrell Waltrip  84 ... Cale Yarborough 83 ...  Jeff Gordon  82 ... Dale Earnhardt  76 ...  Rusty Wallace 55 ...  Lee Petty 54 ...  Ned Jarrett 50 ...  Junior Johnson  50 ...  Jimmie Johnson 50

New York Sports