64° Good Evening
64° Good Evening
SportsMotor Racing

McMurray earns historic Brickyard 400 win for Ganassi

INDIANAPOLIS, Sunday, July 25, 2010 – Jamie McMurray gave team owner Chip Ganassi one of the biggest wins of his life – and a special place in global motorsports history – with a victory in the 2010 Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

McMurray drove the No. 1 Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats Chevrolet to a victory by 1.391 seconds over Kevin Harvick’s No. 29 Shell/Pennzoil Chevrolet. McMurray earned $438,877 for the victory.

The victory gave Ganassi an unprecedented “triple crown” of major motorsports victories in one year, as McMurray also won the 2010 Daytona 500 and Dario Franchitti won the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race for Ganassi’s IZOD IndyCar Series team.

McMurray also became only the third driver to win the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 in the same year. Dale Jarrett first accomplished the feat in 1996, and Jimmie Johnson followed in 2006.

“It’s unbelievable,” McMurray said. “We didn’t have the best car. When Kevin got by me a few laps from the end, I thought it was over. Ten laps to go, just do what you’ve got to do. Don’t worry about those guys.

“It’s just an awesome day. It’s unreal right now. How about Chip winning the (Indianapolis) 500 and both of these big races? I’m just shocked I won the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 in the same year. It’s been an unbelievable year.”

1995 Indianapolis 500 winner Jacques Villeneuve finished 29th in his first Brickyard 400 appearance. He became just the second driver, along with Juan Pablo Montoya, to compete in all three major auto races at IMS – the Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400 and United States Grand Prix Formula One race.

Courtesy, IMS



We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports