Clear 43° Good Afternoon
Clear 43° Good Afternoon
SportsMotor Racing

News and Notes: Twelve Hours of Sebring

The good folks at ALMS have provided us with these items concerning this year's race at Sebring.

Peugeot sets lineups for two-car Sebring entry

Peugeot Sport confirmed Monday its entry to the 58th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh from Florida with two diesel-powered factory Peugeot 908 HDi FAPs. It will mark the third straight year that Peugeot has contested the Sebring classic in central Florida.

Peugeot finished as runner-up in 2009’s classic duel with Audi Sport, just 22 seconds behind the winning Audi R15 TDI. The French manufacturer went on to win at Le Mans for the first time since 1993 and then at Road Atlanta’s Petit Le Mans.

Anthony Davidson, Marc Gené and Alexander Wurz – the latter two drivers part of the winning Peugeot with David Brabham at Le Mans last year – will share one Peugeot 908 at Sebring. Sebastien Bourdais, Pedro Lamy and Nic Minassian will drive the second car.

Additionally, Patrón Highcroft Racing star Simon Pagenaud was confirmed to the factory squad for Le Mans. He will drive with Bourdais and Lamy.

The American Le Mans Series will open its 12th season with America’s greatest sports car race, the 58th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh from Florida from March 17-20. The green flag will fall at 10:35 a.m. on Saturday, March 20 with live coverage on SPEED.

Record Level of Corporate Involvement at Sebring

Sebring International Raceway has reached a record level of corporate participation for next month’s 58th annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh from Florida. Hospitality, sponsorships, advertising and other corporate involvement is the highest ever achieved since joining the American Le Mans Series in 1999.

“These are challenging times, especially in our industry,” stated Sebring President and General Manager Tres Stephenson. “However, we have managed to set a new record this year in terms of corporate involvement. This is a testament to Sebring’s legendary status in motorsports and its proven record as a sports marketing tool with a worldwide audience. Together with the American Le Mans Series, Sebring has poised itself for another decade of growth.”

On track, Sebring will feature its largest entry in five years, a further indication that the American Le Mans Series continues to strengthen its role as North America’s leading sports car racing series.

A small selection the highlights include the first race for the factory Lola-Aston Martin in North America, the debut of the American Le Mans Series’ two new Challenge classes, and an epic GT2 clash that features six world-class manufacturers – BMW, Chevrolet, Ferrari, Ford, Jaguar and Porsche.

“I could not be more proud of Tres Stephenson and his staff for the results they are producing,” said Scott Atherton, President and CEO of the American Le Mans Series. “At a time when positive growth for any business is hard to come by, almost every category of measure for the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh from Florida is up. To be able to report solid increases in sponsorship, corporate hospitality and ticket sales is truly remarkable. And with a larger field of world-class cars the racing will not disappoint either. Altogether it promises to be another outstanding event.

Extreme Speed Motorsports announces drivers for Sebring and Petit Le Mans

Extreme Speed Motorsports, the new race team created and owned by veteran race car driver Scott Sharp, announced  that Joao Barbosa and Dominik Farnbacher will join the team for next month’s 58th running of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring and Road Atlanta’s Petit Le Mans later this year.

Barbosa, who won the 24 Hours of Daytona title last month, will compete with Extreme Speed Motorsports drivers Ed Brown and Guy Cosmo in one of the team’s Ferrari F430 GTCs, in the American Le Mans Series’ GT2 class. Farnbacher, a four-time winner in the Series driving an F430 GT, will join Sharp and Johannes van Overbeek in the team’s other entry.

“I’m thrilled to welcome Joao and Dominik to the Extreme Speed Motorsports team,” said Sharp, last year’s LMP1 Series co-champion. “Both of them are experienced and fast drivers, and know what it takes to navigate the track and get to the end of a major endurance race.”


New York Sports