48° Good Afternoon
48° Good Afternoon

Carli Lloyd on FIFA's Ballon D'Or award short list

Carli Lloyd #10 of the United States celebrates

Carli Lloyd #10 of the United States celebrates scoring the opening goal against Japan in the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 Final at BC Place Stadium on July 5, 2015 in Vancouver, Canada. Credit: Getty Images / Kevin C. Cox

ZURICH -- Carli Lloyd is among the 10 players on the shortlist for the 2015 Ballon D'Or award for the women's world player of the year after the American scored a hat trick in the World Cup final.

Lloyd, whose club team is the Houston Dash of the NWSL, was one of three U.S. players on the list, the most of any country. She's joined by Seattle Reign teammates Hope Solo and Megan Rapinoe.

Lloyd was awarded the Golden Ball as player of the tournament after she scored six times in the Americans' last four World Cup games.

Canada's Kadeisha Buchanan, who plays for West Virginia University, is also in the running for the Ballon D'Or, along with Germany's Nadine Angerer, who won the award in 2013 and is on the roster of the Portland Thorns.

Japan, which lost 5-2 to the U.S. in the World Cup final May 5, has one representative -- Aya Miyama -- while Germany and France have two players each.

Brazil's Marta, who won the award every year from 2006 to 2010 and was the runner-up last year, did not make the shortlist.

FIFA also listed 10 names for the women's team coach of the year award.

Ballon D'Or Award player shortlist

Nadine Angerer (Germany/Brisbane Roar/Portland Thorns)

Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland/FC Rosengard)

Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/West Virginia University)

Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Eugenie Le Sommer (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Carli Lloyd (U.S./Houston Dash)

Aya Miyama (Japan/Okayama Yunogo Belle)

Megan Rapinoe (U.S./Seattle Reign)

Celia Sasic (Germany/1.FFC Frankfurt)

Hope Solo (U.S./Seattle Reign)

AP-WF-10-19-15 1549GMT


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports