Good Morning
Good Morning

Klinsmann selects 22-man roster for Mexico game

Jurgen Klinsmann talks to the media during a

Jurgen Klinsmann talks to the media during a press conference at NikeTown in New York City. (Aug. 1, 2011) Credit: Getty Images

Jurgen Klinsmann announced his first U.S. roster on Thursday, naming 22 players who will take on rival Mexico Aug. 10 in Philadelphia.

Although U.S.-Mexico is never "friendly," it still is an exhibition game so any questionable roster choices shouldn't ring any alarms among pundits.

“One of the goals of the roster for this game and moving forward is to create competition at each position,” Klinsmann said. “There are many players who are established as well as many players who will get opportunities, and we want there to be a healthy contest for spots on the roster. We will get a good look at where each player is as quickly as we can during the short time in camp, and we will finish with an exciting game against Mexico.”

A few interesting selections include the return of Ricardo Clark and Jose Torres, who haven't played for the States since their mediocre performances at the 2010 World Cup. DaMarcus Beasley, seven caps shy of 100, is also back and listed at forward -- not his usual spot on the wing. On defense, Timmy Chandler returns to the mix and will be a player everyone will be watching as he faces off against Mexico's imposing front line.

Which starting 11 would you throw out there?

The complete roster:

Goalkeepers (2): Bill Hamid (D.C.United), Tim Howard (Everton)

Defenders (8): Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne), Edgar Castillo (Club America), Timmy Chandler (FC Nürnberg), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Michael Orozco Fiscal (San Luis), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Midfielders (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Brek Shea (FC Dallas), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

Forwards (5): Freddy Adu (Benfica), Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Edson Buddle (FC Ingolstadt), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)

New York Sports