Overcast 57° Good Morning
Overcast 57° Good Morning

Lionel Messi, Carli Lloyd nominated for FIFA goal of year

Left: Barcelona's Lionel Messi celebrates after scoring the

Left: Barcelona's Lionel Messi celebrates after scoring the opening goal during the final of the Copa del Rey match against Athletic Bilbao at the Camp Nou Stadium in Barcelona on May 30, 2015. Right: The United States' Carli Lloyd celebrates after scoring her third goal against Japan during the first half of the Women's World Cup in Vancouver on July 5, 2015. Photo Credit: AP / Manu Fernandez; AP / Elaine Thompson

ZURICH -- Carli Lloyd and Lionel Messi are among the nominees for the FIFA Puskas Award for goal of the year.

Lloyd scored for the United States from 50 yards against Japan in the Women's World Cup final. Messi beat four defenders before scoring Barcelona's first goal against Athletic Bilbao in the Copa del Rey final.

Other nominees include Juventus striker Carlos Tevez and AC Milan defender Philippe Mexes. Gonzalo Castro, Wendell Lira, David Ball, Marcel Ndjeng, Esteban Ramirez and Alessandro Florenzi were also nominated Friday.

The 10 nominees will be trimmed to three on Nov. 30. The winner will be chosen on Jan. 11, the same day as the Ballon d'Or winner is announced.

New York Sports