49° Good Morning
49° Good Morning

Mexico announces Gold Cup roster

Javier Hernandez of Manchester United celebrates as he

Javier Hernandez of Manchester United celebrates as he scores their second goal during the FA Community Shield match between Chelsea and Manchester United. (Aug. 8, 2010) Photo Credit: Getty Images

Mexico's Gold Cup roster has been revealed.

The United States' rival announced its 23-man team, which is headlined by Manchester United striker Javier Hernandez. Mexico has won five of the 10 Gold Cups since the tournament changed its format in 1991. It opens the tournament against El Salvador June 5 in Arlington, Texas.

Check out the roster below:

Goalkeepers: Jose de Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Guillermo Ochoa (Club America).

Defenders: Ricardo Osorio (Monterrey), Edgar Dueñas (Toluca), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigers), Rafa Marquez (New York Red Bulls), Francisco Javier Rodriguez (PSV Eindhoven), Hector Moreno (AZ Alkmaar), Carlos Salcido (Fulham FC).

Midfielders: Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Israel Castro (Pumas), Luis Ernesto Perez (Monterrey), Jesus Zavala (Monterrey), Antonio Naelson Sinha (Toluca), Angel Reyna (Club America), Efraín Juárez (Celtic FC), Andrés Guardado (La Coruña).

Forwards: Aldo de Nigris (Monterrey), Giovani Dos Santos (Racing Santander), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United), Pablo Barrera (West Ham United), Elías Hernández (Monarcas).


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports