If you don't want your location shared with the whole world, here's how to disable Facebook Places in the site's security settings.


1. Log into your Facebook account. In the upper right-hand corner, click "Account" and select "Privacy Settings." Under "Sharing on Facebook" select "Custom," if it is not already selected, and then "Customize Settings."


2. Under "Things I share," find "Places I check in to" and select "Only Me." Beneath that, unclick "Include me in 'People Here Now' after I check in." Scroll to "Things others share" and select "Disabled" for "Friends can check me in to Places."


3. Go back to Privacy Settings. Under "Applications and Websites," click "Edit your settings." Under "Info accessible through your friends," click "Edit Settings." Unclick "Places I check in to" and anything else you don't want shared. Click "Save Changes."

Public housing wait time ... Nepal flood survivor speaks ... 'The Big Chill' reading in the Hamptons  Credit: Newsday

NY ICE arrest numbers ... Public housing wait time ... High school football season cancelled ... Let's Go: GoBoats East Quogue

Public housing wait time ... Nepal flood survivor speaks ... 'The Big Chill' reading in the Hamptons  Credit: Newsday

NY ICE arrest numbers ... Public housing wait time ... High school football season cancelled ... Let's Go: GoBoats East Quogue

SUBSCRIBE

Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 6 months

ACT NOWSALE ENDS SOON | CANCEL ANYTIME