Republican Stephen Kiely, left, faces Democrat Tommy John Schiavoni in the...

Republican Stephen Kiely, left, faces Democrat Tommy John Schiavoni in the 1st Assembly District race to succeed retiring Assemb. Fred Thiele Jr. (D-Sag Harbor). Credit: John Roca

Suffolk Democrats are headed for a primary in New York’s 1st Congressional District, Nassau Democrats are hoping to avert one in the 4th and Republicans are looking for a challenger for Democrat Tom Suozzi in the 3rd, according to new candidate lists released by the parties.

The Nassau and Suffolk GOP held nominating conventions over the past two weeks, announcing their slates for races for Congress, the state Senate and Assembly and local judgeships. Nassau and Suffolk Democrats are not holding conventions. In Nassau, committee members are being encouraged to collect petitions by the April 4 deadline to help party candidates qualify for the ballot.

In Nassau, Democratic primaries are expected in at least two  state Senate races. In the 6th District, Nassau Legis. Siela Bynoe (D-Westbury), Assemb. Taylor Darling (D-Hempstead) and Carmen J. Piñeyro, a former Freeport deputy village mayor, are vying to succeed State Sen. Kevin Thomas (D-Levittown). Republicans have not named a candidate in the race.

In the 7th District, where State Sen. Jack Martins (R-Old Westbury) is the incumbent, three Democrats have filed to run: former Nassau Legis. Josh Lafazan of Woodbury; Kim Keiserman, a Port Washington resident who heads the local Democratic club; and Brad Schwartz, a television producer and editor from Roslyn.

In Suffolk, the parties are focused on the 1st Assembly District, as 30-year incumbent Fred Thiele Jr. (D-Sag Harbor) prepares to retire. Southampton Town Councilman Tommy John Schiavoni, a Democrat, will face Shelter Island Town Attorney Stephen Kiely, a Republican.

Suffolk Republicans announced their candidates during their Feb. 21 convention at the Elks Lodge in Smithtown. Suffolk Democrats provided a list of their candidates.

In the 1st Congressional District Democratic primary, former CNN political analyst John Avlon will face off against Nancy Goroff, a former Stony Brook University chemistry department chair who ran unsuccessfully for the seat in 2020. The winner will run against Rep. Nick LaLota (R-Amityville), who is seeking a second term.

Last week, the Democratic field in the race narrowed from five candidates to two.

Former State Sen. James Gaughran (D-Northport) dropped out Tuesday after the State Legislature approved new district lines. Democrats Kyle Hill and Craig Herskowitz also suspended their campaigns.

Nassau Republicans named their candidates at their convention Monday at Levittown Hall in Hicksville. In the 4th Congressional District, freshman Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (R-Island Park) could face a rematch with former Hempstead Town Supervisor Laura Gillen, the Democratic nominee in 2022. Thomas dropped out of the race on Thursday as party leaders sought to clear the field for Gillen. Three other Democrats have filed for the seat: former Nassau Legis. David Denenberg of Merrick, Patricia Maher of Baldwin and Gian Jones of Woodmere.

House Speaker Mike Johnson (R-La.) swore in Suozzi on Wednesday to serve out the rest of expelled former Congressman George Santos' term, which expires Dec. 31. Suozzi, who defeated Republican Mazi Melesa Pilip in the Feb. 13 special election, is running for a full term in November.

In the 2nd District, which includes portions of both counties, Democrats selected Rob Lubin to challenge Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-Bayport), who is running for a third term.

Primary races are set for June 25 and the general election is Nov. 5.

With Scott Eidler



1st District: Nicholas LaLota

2nd District: Andrew Garbarino

3rd District: TBD

4th District: Anthony D’Esposito

NYS Senate:

1st District: Anthony Palumbo

2nd District: Mario Mattera

3rd District: Dean Murray

4th District: Teresa Bryant

5th District: Steven Rhoads

6th District: TBD

7th District: Jack Martins

8th District: Alexis Weik

9th District: Patricia Canzoneri-Fitzpatrick

NYS Assembly

1st District: Stephen Kiely

2nd District: Jodi Giglio

3rd District: Joseph DeStefano

4th District: Edward Flood

5th District: Douglas Smith

6th District: TBD

7th District: Jarrett Gandolfo

8th District: Michael Fitzpatrick

9th District: Michael Durso

10th District: Aamir Sultan

11th District: Joseph Cardinale

12th District: Keith Brown

13th District: Ruka Anzai

14th District: David McDonough

15th District: Jake Ryan Blumencranz

16th District: Daniel Norber

17th District: John Mikulin

18th District: Danielle Smikle

19th District: Edward Ra

20th District: Eric Ari Brown

21st District: Brian Curran

22nd District: Ian Bergstrom

Suffolk County Court Judge

Philip Goglas, Peter McGreevy

Suffolk County Family Court


Nassau County Court Judge 

Terence Murphy

Nassau County Family Court Judge 

Joseph Nocella

Suffolk County District Court, 2nd District

James McDonaugh

Suffolk County District Court, 3rd District


Suffolk County District Court, 4th District

John Zollo, Paul Hennings

Suffolk County District Court, 6th District


Nassau County District Court, 2nd District

Andrew Phoenix, Veronica Irwin, Ryan Cronin, TBA

Nassau County District Court, 4th District

Charles McQuair, Michele Johnson, Lisa Lo Curto

East Hampton Town Council 


City of Long Beach Justice Court

Corey Klein

Riverhead, Southampton and Shelter Island town justice courts


Source: Suffolk, Nassau County Republican Committees



1s Congressional District, Primary: John Avlon, Nancy Goroff

2nd District: Robert Lubin

NYS Senate

1st District: Sarah Anker

2nd District: Craig Herskowitz

3rd District: Michael Conroy

4th District: Monica Martinez

8th District: Jack Loubier

NYS Assembly

1st District: Thomas Schiavoni

2nd District: Tricia Chiaramonte

3rd District: Matthew Jennings

4th District, Primary: Skyler Johnson, Rebecca Kassay

5th District: Joseph Hagelman

6th District: Philip Ramos

7th District: Garrett Petersen

8th District: Steven Basileo

9th District: Steven DellaVecchia

10th District: Steve Stern

11th District: Kimberly Jean-Pierre

12th District: Robert Lopez

East Hampton Town Council 

Ian. Calder-Piedmonte

Suffolk County Court

Anthony LaPinta, Gail Lolis

Family Court

Stuart Besen

2nd District Court

James McDonaugh

3rd District Court

Eric Sachs

4th District Court

Maria Scheuring, TBA

6th District Court

Margot Garant, Dorothy Cavalier, TBA

Southampton Town Justice

Adam Grossman, Karen M. Sartain

Riverhead and Shelter Island Town Justice


Source: Suffolk County Democratic Committee

Newsday LogoSUBSCRIBEUnlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months