Quogue Village has a new mayor for the first time...

Quogue Village has a new mayor for the first time in more than a dozen years with the June 17 election of Robert Treuhold, a first-term trustee who ran unopposed. Credit: Barry Sloan

Voters across villages in Nassau and Suffolk counties went to the polls last week to choose their government officials and elected new mayors in North Haven and Quogue.

In North Haven, Chris Fiore won the three-way mayoral race on June 21 and was elected to a two-year term with 164 votes. Challengers Terie Diat and John Reiser received 106 and 105 votes, respectively.

Fiore, 75, is a retired retail executive who said he ran to give back to the village where he has owned a home since 1992. Issues he plans to address include water quality, land preservation, affordability and noise pollution, he said.

“The biggest issue that we have is keeping the small-town flavor while admitting that we’re in the 21st century,” he said.

Fiore will be paid $5,000 annually and succeeds Mayor Jeff Sander, who served since 2013 and did not seek reelection.

Quogue Village has a new mayor for the first time in more than a dozen years after the June 17 election of Robert Treuhold, a first-term trustee who ran unopposed and received 127 votes. Treuhold, 65, is a retired corporate attorney who previously served on the village Zoning Board of Appeals.

“My primary goal is to preserve and protect our beautiful, quaint village in keeping an eye towards the future,” he said Thursday. “I’m excited to take on this challenge.” 

Treuhold succeeds former Mayor Peter Sartorius, who had served since 2009 and did not seek reelection. Treuhold’s term is for two years and comes with a $25,000 yearly salary. He will be sworn in July 5.

In East Hampton, the two trustee seat winners, who had the backing of Mayor Jerry Larsen, were elected with a majority of absentee votes. Carrie Doyle and Sarah Amaden won four-year terms on the board and each received 316 total votes. Doyle received 253 absentee votes and 63 walk-in votes, while Sarah Amaden received 234 absentee votes and 82 walk-in votes.

Amaden is a newcomer to politics, while Doyle has served on the East Hampton Village Zoning Board of Appeals.

They defeated incumbent Arthur Graham, who received 138 walk-in votes and 50 absentee votes for a total of 188. Trustees serve for four years and are paid $14,000 annually. 

Incumbent Trustee Rose Brown did not seek reelection.

In Southampton Village, former trustee William Manger Jr. and incumbent Gina Arresta won two-year terms on the Village Board with 658 and 613 votes, respectively. They defeated incumbent Joseph McLoughlin and former trustee Kimberly Allan. McLoughlin and Allan received 431 and 367 votes, respectively.

In Nassau County, two Great Neck incumbents retained their seats on the board of trustees fending off a challenger in the June 21 village election. Incumbent Eli Kashi, 50, won reelection after receiving the most votes, with a tally of 964. Kashi, who works in the manufacturing industry, will serve his second term on the board.

His running mate and incumbent Barton Sobel, who serves as deputy mayor, was reelected with 944 votes. Sobel, 59, who runs a law practice in Great Neck, is entering his seventh term on the board.

Kashi and Sobel ran on the Great Neck Greater Village Party line.

Challenger Samuel J. Yellis, 63, who ran on the Together We Can Party line, received 404 in the election. He is a social studies teacher at the Village School, a public alternative high school in Great Neck.

The trustees serve two-year terms and are paid $4,800 annually, officials said.

In a trustee contest in Shoreham, incumbents Sherry Neff and Mariann D. Coogan were reelected. Neff received 162 votes and Coogan got 154 to defeat challenger Stephen Rosario, who garnered 55 votes.

— With Darwin Yanes 

Latest Videos