Regis and Cristi Gallet await election results for trustee seats...

Regis and Cristi Gallet await election results for trustee seats in the Village of Mineola, Tuesday, March 20, 2018, with mayoral candidate Lawrence Werther, right. Credit: Danielle Finkelstein

Incumbents facing contested village races across Long Island Tuesday were largely re-elected to their positions.

The unofficial results were reported Tuesday night by village officials. Other uncontested races were also held across Long Island.

But in Hempstead Village, challenger Jeffery J. Daniels beat incumbent Gladys Rodriguez for a one-year trustee term, according to Village Clerk Patricia Perez. Daniels received 755 votes and Rodriguez, who was appointed to the position a year ago to fill Mayor Don Ryan’s trustee term when he won the mayor’s seat, got 342 votes.

In Mineola, a husband-and-wife duo lost their bids to unseat two trustees and the mayor’s challenger also lost to the village’s incumbent. The two trustee seats have been filled by incumbents George Durham and Dennis Walsh, according to Village Clerk Joseph Scalero.

Walsh won with 992 votes and Durham got 951 votes. Mayor Scott Strauss also kept his seat after winning 1,006 votes. Strauss’ challenger, Larry Werther, received 511 votes and the married trustee candidates Regis and Cristi Gallet got 528 votes and 536 votes, respectively.

Northport’s two trustee seats have been filled by incumbent Ian Milligan and former trustee Thomas Kehoe, according to Village Clerk Donna Koch. Milligan won his second term on the village board with 1,068 votes. Kehoe took the second open seat with 788 votes. Challenger Joseph Sabia lost with 772 votes.

Lindenhurst’s election resulted in victories for trustee incumbent Maryann Weckerle and candidate Patrick Pichichero for two open seats, said Village Administrator Doug Madlon. Weckerle won a fourth term as a village trustee, earning 1,451 votes, and Pichichero took the second seat with 1,387 votes. Challenger Shawn Cullinane lost with 676 votes.

In Amityville, incumbent trustee Thomas M. Whalen won his bid to defend his seat, with 977 votes, defeating Joseph G. Morin, who received 717 votes, according to Village Clerk-treasurer Catherine Murdock.

Mayor Dennis Siry appointed Whalen to serve as trustee after Siry won his 2017 mayoral race; Whalen will now finish out the remaining year of his term.

In a close race for two open trustee seats in the Village of Munsey Park, incumbent Jennifer Noone and resident Anthony Sabino edged out challengers Brian Dunning and Nathine Yakaitis, Village Clerk-treasurer Tara Gibbons said. Noone received 321 votes, and Sabino received 316 votes. Dunning had 275 votes, and Yakaitis 269 votes.

In Sea Cliff, trustee Kevin McGilloway was re-elected to his third term, and Henriette Rohl took the second open trustee seat on the village board, according to Village Clerk Marianne Lennon. McGilloway received 787 votes, and Rohl took 648 votes. Candidates Elizabeth Baron and Terryl Donovan lost with 493 votes and 463 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Williston Park Mayor Paul Ehrbar defeated challenger Anthony Gagliardi, village clerk Julie Kain said.

Ehrbar, who got 732 votes, won a third term in office. Gagliardi got 322 votes.

Two trustee seats were up for grabs. Incumbent Kevin Rynne was re-elected after garnering 846 votes. Newcomer William O’Brien won the second trustee seat after getting 800 votes. Trustee candidate Richard Sais got 341 votes.

This story was reported by Khristopher J. Brooks, Christine Chung and Stefanie Dazio. It was written by Dazio.

Latest Videos

American FlagAmerican Flag

Newsday Logo

starstarPRESIDENTS' DAY SALEquarter for 5 months

Unlimited Digital Access


Cancel anytime