Hofstra women's lacrosse coach Shannon Smith on April 21, 2017.

Hofstra women's lacrosse coach Shannon Smith on April 21, 2017. Credit: Lee S Weissman

Shannon Smith, a three-time first-team women’s lacrosse All-American will lead 10 inductees into the Suffolk Sports Hall of Fame on May 10.

Smith of West Babylon, is currently the coach for the Hofstra women’s lacrosse program. She was one of the most decorated players in the sport, leading Northwestern to three NCAA Division I championships.

She set state records during her six-year career at West Babylon, scoring 505 goals and adding 224 assists for 729 points. Her 129 goals in a season in 2006 is also a state mark.

Smith will be joined by Stephen Bowen, an NFL veteran of 10 years, who starred at Half Hollow Hills West and Hofstra. Bowen played defensive end for five years with the Dallas Cowboys, four with the Washington Redskins and one with the Jets. He is currently working in operations for the NFL.

Four notable coaches who impacted Suffolk schools will be honored. Hans Wiederkehr led Babylon to two Long Island Class IV titles and began his 20th year as president of the Suffolk County Football Coaches Association. Wiederkehr played offensive guard for four years at Syracuse.

Longtime track coaches Robert F. Burkley and Harry Schneider of Middle Country and Brentwood tennis coach Clem Stancik, the winningest tennis coach in state history, will be honored.

Record-setting discus thrower Cheryl Klein-Obelar, top-rated football official Joe Dooley, U.S. Olympic handball player Matt Ryan, and Ed Morris, the former Suffolk Sports Hall of Fame executive director for 18 years, who was responsible for the building of the Police Athletic League baseball stadium in Holtsville, will also be inducted.

The special recognition award will be presented to the Bay Shore Junior Fire Department racing team.

Top Stories