Newsday front cover from Oct. 7, 2015.

Newsday front cover from Oct. 7, 2015. Credit: Newsday

Newsday won seven top 10 awards in The Associated Press Sports Editors annual contest that will conclude Wednesday in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Newsday's top-10 winners included:

Special sections: Newsday’s 2015 baseball preview section

Projects: NFL players coping with life after football.

Explanatory: Football helmet safety and salaries and bonuses of Division I men's college basketball coaches

Short video (under 2 minutes): Visit to the Negro League Hall of Fame in Kansas City, Missouri.

Long video (over 2 minutes): The Belmont Backstretch during Triple Crown week with American Pharoah

Multimedia: High school football helmet safety

Newsday also received honorable mention in the daily sections category. Newsday competes in the over 175,000 circulation/over 2 million unique visitors category.

“This was a total team effort, and it’s an honor to be recognized by our peers at APSE,” said Hank Winnicki, Newsday’s assistant managing editor for sports. “We are doing great work across all platforms, and the entire sports staff should be proud.”

Jim Baumbach and Laura Albanese reported and wrote Newsday’s stories on football helmet safety. The multimedia team for helmet safety included Baumbach, Saba Ali, Jeffrey Basinger, Anthony Carrozzo, Matthew Cassella, Robert Cassidy, Ann Choi, Mario Gonzalez, Timothy Healy, Greg Inserillo, Mark La Monica, TC McCarthy, Arnold Miller, Jessica Rotkiewicz, Chris Ware and Hank Winnicki.

Baumbach researched and wrote the coaches’ salary stories. Newsday’s “Life After Football” print/web/video package – reported by Baumbach, Bob Glauber, Tom Rock, Kimberley A. Martin and Neil Best – won in the prestigious projects category.

Chris Ware shot and Greg Inserillo edited the Negro League Museum video that won top three in short-form video. The American Pharoah video that won top five in the video over two minutes category was produced by Jeffrey Basinger, Raychel Brightman, Robert Cassidy, Chuck Fadely, Greg Inserillo, Jessica Kelley, Arnold Miller, Ed McNamara, Chris Ware and Alejandra Villa.


Top Stories