Big Ten to split

The Big Ten announced its divisional breakdown for football last night, and Ohio State and Michigan will be in different six-team divisions when the league expands to 12 members in 2011.

Neither division has been named, but they break down like this: Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern in one; Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana in the other.

Commissioner Jim Delany said creating football divisions with competitive balance was the top priority.

Stony Brook extension

Stony Brook University will extend its football relationship with the Big South Conference through 2014, a person familiar with the situation told Newsday. Stony Brook, an associate member, tied Liberty for the conference title last year. The Big South will get an automatic bid to the FCS playoffs this season.


Ilya decision delayed

The NHL and the NHL Players Association agreed to extend the deadline for rendering a decision on Ilya Kovalchuk's contract until Friday at 5 p.m. The initial deadline had been Wednesday at 5. No reason for the extension was given on either side.


Petke retiring

The Red Bulls say veteran defender Mike Petke will retire at the end of the season. Petke, a 13-year Major League Soccer veteran, has appeared in more than 300 MLS matches and is a three-time all-star. The 34-year-old from Bohemia has had two stints with the Red Bulls, totaling seven years. He's their all-time leader in games played with 167. - AP

Top Stories