Results are coming in from Long Island village elections held...

Results are coming in from Long Island village elections held on Tuesday, March 19, 2019. Credit: AP, 2010

Ten villages across Long Island have contested races for mayor or trustees in Tuesday’s elections, with a new casino, downtown revitalization, fiscal strength and potholes dominating the issues.




Trustee Dennis Siry is the new mayor of Amityville. He defeated trustee Nick LaLota. The two board incumbents, Jessica T. Bernius and Kevin P. Smith, keep their seats.


Nick LaLota -- 1,260 votes

Dennis Siry -- 1,488 votes


Jessica T. Bernius -- 1,340 votes

Kevin P. Smith -- 1,434 votes

James Wandell -- 1,248 votes

Stephen M. Greenwald -- 1,278 votes


Incumbents Kevin S. Muldowney and Mary E. Adams defeated former village Treasurer Joan Crockett for two trustee seats. 


Mary E. Adams -- 610 votes

Kevin S. Muldowney -- 786 votes

Joan Crockett -- 343 votes


Mayor Robert Kennedy was re-elected with 3,933 votes, defeating both former Mayor Andrew Hardwick and attorney Stephen Drummond. Hardwick received 1,352 votes and Drummond got 1,331 votes.

Two open trustees seats were won by Kennedy’s running mates, Carmen Piñeyro and Ronald Ellerbe, in a race against Juana Prado, Frank Grossman, Phillip Prestamo and Angel Vargas.


Robert Kennedy (incumbent) -- 3,933 votes

Stephen Drummond -- 1,331 votes

Andrew Hardwick -- 1,352 votes


Carmen Piñeyro  --  3,699 votes

Ronald Ellerbe --  3,714 votes

Philip Prestamo  --  1,288 votes

Angel Vargas --  1,284 votes

Juana Prado  --  1,502 votes

Frank Grossman --  1,460 votes



Hempstead Councilman Don Ryan upset three-term Mayor Wayne Hall Sr. on Tuesday night. Hall was defeated along with incumbent Councilmen Luis Figueroa and Waylyn Hobbs Jr.


Henry Salgado

Wayne Hall Sr.

Don Ryan


Darrell Garner and Sherina Lucas

Waylyn Hobbs Jr. and Luis Figueroa

LaMont Johnson and Charles Renfroe



Village trustee Joseph Juliano won his re-election bid with 183 votes, according to village Clerk Rosaleen Shea. Dan Driscoll won the second open trustee seat with 249 votes. Charles Puglisi lost the election with 166 votes. Mayor Henry Schreiber ran for re-election unopposed and won with 288 votes. A total of 333 votes were cast in the election, Shea said.


Joseph Juliano -- 183 votes

Daniel Driscoll -- 249 votes

Charles Puglisi -- 166 votes



In the race for two open trustee seats, incumbent trustees Daniel Pearl and Tina Schiaffino won re-election, according to village Administrator Peggy Caltabiano.


Daniel M. Pearl -- 919 votes

Tina Schiaffino -- 1,048 votes

Adam H. Dulberg -- 393 votes


Challenger Deb McDermott, 49, was by far the top vote-getter among the three candidates vying for two trustee seats with a total of 725 votes. Incumbent Dina Epstein won a second term, getting 466 votes. Incumbent Jeffrey Vitale did not win after getting only 422 votes.


Dina Epstein -- 466 votes

Jeffrey Vitale -- 422 votes

Deborah McDermott -- 725 votes


Incumbent Mayor Allan M. Dorman was re-elected with 507 votes over former trustee Neil J. Munro, who got 258 votes. In the race for two open trustee seats, incumbent Michael Zaleski was re-elected with 484 votes, and newcomer Burhan Kisla was elected with 487 votes. Trustee Diane F. Olk and newcomer Mario L. Carbellano received 275 votes. Vote totals are according to Dorman.


Allan M. Dorman -- 507 votes

Neil J. Munro -- 258 votes


Michael Zaleski -- 484 votes

Burhan Kisla -- 487 votes

Mario L. Carbellano -- 275 votes 

Diane F. Olk -- 278 - votes



Robert Miller is the new mayor of Mastic Beach after defeating trustee Christopher Anderson. The position will be abolished at the end of the year, but is needed to guide the municipality back to being an unincorporated part of Brookhaven Town.

Trustee Victor Viola was re-elected, and will be joined by planning board member Fred Krage.


Christopher Anderson -- 573 votes

Robert Miller -- 751 votes


Victor Viola -- 746 votes

Diana M. Soldano -- 581 votes

Fred Krage -- 733 votes

Christopher A. Ricciardi -- 583 votes


Results were not immediately available for the race between incumbents Mary Bess Phillips and Julia Robins, and resident Paul Kreiling, for the two open trustee seats. Candidate Lucy Clark, also known as Mary Given, told the village board that she dropped out of the race.


Mary Bess Phillips

Julia Robins

Mary L. Given

Paul Kreiling

Latest videos