Teacher Scott McKillop works with a student at Riverhead High...

Teacher Scott McKillop works with a student at Riverhead High School, which earned a Blue Star designation after participating in the in Working In Support of Education’s finance-themed program. Credit: Handout

Seventeen Long Island high schools and Western Suffolk BOCES won Blue Stars from a national nonprofit organization for educating teenagers about budgeting, entrepreneurship and retirement planning, among other finance-related topics.

The high schools and the BOCES district are among 194 nationwide to earn the Blue Star designation this month from Working In Support of Education (w!se), which is based in New York City.

To receive the distinction the schools had to achieve a passing rate of 75 percent on the organization's 2012-13 financial literacy certification test.

Local high schools to earn the designation were Babylon, Bethpage, Garden City, Hewlett, Gen. Douglas MacArthur in Levittown, Glen Cove, Herricks, Malverne, Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK, Riverhead, Roslyn, Sachem North in Lake Ronkonkoma, Seaford, Smithtown East and Smithtown West, Southold and Wellington C. Mepham in Bellmore.

"The Blue Star designation is evidence of . . . the sincere interest students have in learning relevant and meaningful real-world applications," Southold Principal William Galati said.

Sachem North Principal John Dolan said: "Our future is bright because of the wonderful students at Sachem and across Long Island who make awards like this possible."

The schools will be honored in November at the organization's National MoneyPOWER Conference for Financial Literacy in Manhattan.



New principals

The Middle Country Central School District has several new principals: Scott Graviano at Newfield High School, Kristi Leonard at Dawnwood Middle School and Shaun Rothberg at Stagecoach Elementary School.

Graviano previously served as an assistant principal at Newfield and replaced Theo Fulton, who now is principal at George W. Hewlett High School. Leonard previously served as the district's coordinator of special education for grades 9-12 and replaced Linda Peyser, who retired. Rothberg has served as assistant principal at Dawnwood and at the district's New Lane Elementary School.



New principals

Maureen Martin is the new principal of Sherwood Elementary School, replacing Diane Druckman, and Chris Smalley is the new principal of Wing Elementary School, replacing Vince Veglia.

Both Druckman and Veglia retired.

Martin most recently was assistant principal of Burr Intermediate School in Commack. Smalley previously served as assistant principal of Signal Hill Elementary School in Dix Hills.



New principal

Jonathan Klomp is the new principal of North Babylon High School, replacing Raymond Williams, who now is principal of Hicksville High School.

Klomp most recently was administrator of personnel and student support for the Lynbrook Union Free School District.


Merit semifinalists

A total of 174 Long Island students are among 16,000 semifinalists named nationwide this month by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. for about 8,000 scholarships worth $35 million. Finalists will be named in February, and scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.

Local semifinalists include:

Cold Spring Harbor: Riley Schwartz of Cold Spring Harbor High School; Commack: Justin Cheung, Maurice Green, Greta Huang and Meaghan Mahoney of Commack High School; Deer Park: Andreas Stamatakis of Deer Park High School; Dix Hills: Shantanu Havaldar of Half Hollow Hills High School East; Cody Cao, Simon Lee and Travis Schwartz of Half Hollow Hills West; East Hampton: Carly Grossman of East Hampton High School; East Setauket: Charlotte Broadbent, Ray Chen, Ryan Gao, Luran He, Olivia Hu, Eidan Jacob, Emily Kaye, Henry Lane, Harrison Li, Julia Pinkava, Spencer Rosner, Alec Shangold, Alex Shea, Alan Wei, Ray Yin, Carolina Zheng and Jen Zhong of Ward Melville High School; Greenlawn: Will Macci and Keith Mills of Harborfields High School; Hauppauge: Brian Eng, Sarah Mackin and Varun Mehta of Hauppauge High School; Huntington: Aron Coraor, Jesse Feldman-Stein and Brian Gilbert of Huntington High School; Huntington Station: Pat Zakrzewski of Walt Whitman High School; Kings Park: Andrew He of Kings Park High School; Mattituck: Kyra Martin of Mattituck High School; Melville: Grace Cimaszewski, Miranda Hawkins, Donald Matthews, Akash Nandi and Liz Scanlon of St. Anthony's High School; Northport: Eric Inkelis of Northport High School; Riverhead: Sean Coffey of Bishop McGann-Mercy High School; Rocky Point: Evan Komorowski of Rocky Point High School; Smithtown: Eda Algur, Kathleen Heslin, Bryan Wehner, Grace Zhao and Caleb Zhu of Smithtown High School West, and Yongpeng Tang of Smithtown East; Southold: Gary Prieto of Southold High School.

Get the latest news and more great videos at NewsdayTV Credit: Newsday

LI unemployment rate up . . . Day trip to Ocean Beach . . . Get the latest news and more great videos at NewsdayTV

Get the latest news and more great videos at NewsdayTV Credit: Newsday

LI unemployment rate up . . . Day trip to Ocean Beach . . . Get the latest news and more great videos at NewsdayTV

Latest videos


Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months