Brookhaven Town Hall

Brookhaven Town Hall Credit: Newsday / Bill Davis

The Brookhaven Town Board said farewell Tuesday to three elected officials who will leave office Dec. 31.

Supervisor Edward P. Romaine presented trophies to Councilwoman Kathleen Walsh, Councilman Steve Fiore-Rosenfeld and Town Clerk Patricia Eddington before the last scheduled town board meeting of the year at Town Hall in Farmingville.

Romaine acknowledged that another town board member, Councilwoman Connie Kepert, is awaiting the outcome of her election. Kepert, a Democrat, trails Republican challenger Michael A. Loguercio Jr. by four votes in unofficial tallies. Kepert has appealed a court ruling disallowing 11 ballots cast in the race.

“We won’t present that, and we may never have to present that,” Romaine said, referring to a trophy recognizing Kepert. “She may be back.”

He added that he planned to honor Kepert at a later meeting if Loguercio wins.

Walsh, a former Republican who ran with Democratic backing, lost in November to Republican Kevin LaValle. Fiore-Rosenfeld and Eddington declined to seek re-election.

Kepert’s appeal is scheduled to be heard Wednesday by the Second Appellate Division in Brooklyn.

Latest Videos