Lilly and her husband Raymond Acevedo, of Medford, cast their...

Lilly and her husband Raymond Acevedo, of Medford, cast their vote at the Gordon Heights Fire Department. "We are not saving anything by moving the fire department," Raymond said. (December 13, 2011) Credit: Chris Ware

Fire districts across Long Island held elections Tuesday for commissioner seats and some propositions. Here are the winners in elections that were contested:


* Bellmore: John Curley. A proposition to sell, trade or dispose of a 1996 Heavy Duty Rescue Truck passed.
* Bethpage: F. Brian Durr.
* Elmont: Frank Hrbek Jr.
* Franklin Square & Munson: Dennis G. Lyons.
* Garden City Park: Augustine Carnevale.
* Hewlett Bay: Anthony Vacchio (commissioner), Joseph Breslin (treasurer).
* Hicksville: Scott Skrynecki.
* Levittown: Joel E. Bearman.
* Locust Valley: Gregory Stimola.
* Manhasset-Lakeville: Andrew DeMartin.
* Massapequa: A proposition amending the district’s length of service awards program passed.
* Meadowmere Park: Kevin Benet.
* New Hyde Park: Richard A. Stein Jr.
* North Bellmore: A proposition to sell a heavy rescue vehicle passed.
* Roosevelt: Garland Moore. A proposition to purchase a new ambulance for $265,000 to be financed over 60 months passed.
* Syosset: Richard Roseo.
* Uniondale: Mervyn Campbell.
* West Hempstead: Ronald Magarie.


* Bohemia: Glenn Ostermann.
* Brentwood: Eric Raudies.
* Bridgehampton: Raymond Topping Jr.
* Centereach: Frank Rudilosso.
* Commack: Jeremiah O’Sullivan.
* Dix Hills: Robert Commiso.
* East Islip: Thomas Drywa.
* East Moriches: Michael J. Mazarakis.
* East Northport: Wayne Kaifler Sr.
* Farmingville: John K. Skippon.
* Fishers Island: No information available.
* Gordon Heights: Avery Dean.
* Halesite: Craig Lanigan (3-year term).
* Holbrook: Joseph Williams.
* Holtsville: John Skalocky.
* Huntington: A proposition to sell a tower ladder passed.
* Huntington Manor: Raymond Spatafora.
* Islip: Michael Leo.
* Jamesport: Leroy Anthony.
* Kings Park: Thomas Richardson.
* Lake Ronkonkoma: Ronald Corsale. A proposition for a nearly $1 million bond to fund the purchase of pumper firefighting vehicles passed.
* Manorville: Thomas J. Campanaro.
* Mattituck: Gregory C. Dickerson.
* Medford: Charles Jagde.
* Melville: James T. Coschignano Jr.
* Miller Place: Carol Hawat.
* Patchogue: J. Carter Biggs. A proposition to approve funding for three new trucks passed.
* St. James: A proposition to amend the district’s Length of Services Awards program passed.
* Sayville: Robert Chester.
* Selden: Dennis Carman.
* Setauket: Paul DiBiase (5-year term), Kevin Yoos (3-year term).
* Smithtown: Robert Regulinski.
* Sound Beach: Phil Alaimo.
* Wading River: John McManus.
* West Babylon: Richard Koch.
* West Islip: Victor Paduano.
* Westhampton Beach: Donald A. Metcalf.

Newsday LogoDON'T MISS THIS LIMITED-TIME OFFER1 5 months for only $1Save on Unlimited Digital Access