Francisco Lindor #12 of the New York Mets tags out...

Francisco Lindor #12 of the New York Mets tags out Miguel Rojas #19 of the Miami Marlins to end the eighth inning at Citi Field on Wednesday, Sep. 29, 2021. Credit: Jim McIsaac

The Mets and Yankees each have one Gold Glove Award finalist, as announced by Rawlings on Thursday: shortstop Francisco Lindor and outfielder Joey Gallo.

Winners of the annual defensive honors will be revealed on Nov. 7 at 8:30 p.m. on ESPN. The awards are determined by a vote by managers and coaches and a statistical formula called the SABR Defensive Index.

In his first year with the Mets, Lindor was a defensive anchor in the infield, looking every bit the two-time Gold Glover he was in Cleveland. He led National League shortstops with 20 Outs Above Average and his four Defensive Runs Saved were tied for fourth (among eight qualified players at the position).

Lindor is up against the Giants’ Brandon Crawford, a three-time Gold Glover, and the Pirates’ Kevin Newman, who has never won the award.

Gallo is a finalist among American League rightfielders, which he played in only nine games with the Yankees. He was primarily a rightfielder for most of the season with the Rangers.

His fellow finalists, Hunter Renfroe of the Red Sox and Kyle Tucker of the Astros, combine for zero career Gold Gloves. Gallo won his first in 2020, when they were decided by defensive stats following the pandemic-shortened season.

The Mets haven’t had a Gold Glove winner since Juan Lagares in 2014. Before that, David Wright and Carlos Beltran in 2008. The Yankees’ most recent winner is Brett Gardner (2016), preceded by Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano (both 2012).

More MLB news


FOR OUR BEST OFFER ONLY 25¢ for 5 months

Unlimited Digital Access.

cancel anytime.