David Wright, left, and Robinson Cano are seen in this...

David Wright, left, and Robinson Cano are seen in this Newsday composite. Credit: Mike Stobe, Jim McIsaac

The Yankees and Mets were shut out in the Gold Glove awards.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano had been named one of three finalists in the American League. In the National League, Mets third baseman David Wright and leftfielder Eric Young Jr. were finalists.

Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia beat out Cano. Both players had been aiming for their third Gold Glove. Pedroia made just five errors this season and led AL second basemen with 15 defensive runs saved.

After his trade from the Rockies to the Mets, Young made himself into a finalist in leftfield, where his range pushed him toward what would have been his first Gold Glove. But Young was beaten out for the honor by former Rockies teammate Carlos Gonzalez, who tied for the NL lead among leftfielders with 11 assists.

At third base, the Rockies' Nolan Arenado beat out Wright, becoming just the 10th rookie to win a Gold Glove. Arenado, 22, was the first rookie to win since Ichiro Suzuki with the Mariners in 2001.

With 30 defensive runs saved, Arenado led all NL third basemen by a wide margin.

For the second straight year, Wright emerged as a strong candidate, only to be denied his third Gold Glove. Last season, Wright finished behind the Padres' Chase Headley.

The Royals and Orioles were the only teams with three Gold Glovers. Kansas City winners were catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Eric Hosmer and leftfielder Alex Gordon; Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy, third baseman Manny Machado and centerfielder Adam Jones were honored.

Managers and coaches vote on Gold Glove awards. But for the first time, longtime award sponsor Rawlings also incorporated advanced defensive metrics in the final voting.

More MLB news

Newsday LogoSUBSCRIBEUnlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months