Stony Brook's Kylie Ohlmiller, left, and Courtney Murphy were announced...

Stony Brook's Kylie Ohlmiller, left, and Courtney Murphy were announced as nominees for the Tewaaraton Award. Credit: Daniel De Mato

Stony Brook, the nation’s No. 1-ranked women’s college lacrosse team, has two players among the top 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees announced Thursday by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Kylie Ohlmiller of Islip, who recently set NCAA career records for points and goals, and attack Courtney Murphy of Shirley and Floyd join five other Long Island women on the list.

Also named were Sam Apuzzo of West Babylon, (attack, Boston College); Kasey Behr of Northport (midfield, Virginia); Olivia Conti of Wantagh and St. Anthony’s (defense, Towson); Shelby Fredericks of Babylon (attack, Northwestern), and Lindsey Ronbeck of Manhasset (attack, Florida). Two finalists from 2017 are on the current list — Ohlmiller and Marie McCool (midfield, North Carolina).

For the men, Hofstra goalie Jack Concannon of Lindenhurst and St. Anthony’s is one of five Long Islanders named to the men’s top 25 Tewaaraton nominees list. He is joined by Justin Guterding of Garden City (attack, Duke); Gerard Arceri of Smithtown East (faceoff, Penn State); Danny Bucaro of East Setauket and Ward Melville (attack, Georgetown), and Will Sands of Locust Valley and Friends Academy (attack, Bucknell).

Four finalists from 2017 are on the men’s list — Trevor Baptiste (faceoff, Denver), Connor Fields (attack, Albany), Ben Reeves (attack, Yale) and Pat Spencer (attack Loyola).

The five men’s and women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and the Tewaaraton winners — the nation’s top male and female college lacrosse player — will be revealed on May 31 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Top Stories