Time appears to be left on the game clock as...

Time appears to be left on the game clock as St. John's steps out of bounds late in the second half of their win over Rutgers. Credit: ESPN screengrab

All three officials assigned to Wednesday's St. John's-Rutgers game "voluntarily" withdrew from the remainder of the Big East Tournament, according to a statement released by the conference Thursdaymorning.

"Our officials are a very dedicated and loyal group of professionals who care deeply about The Big East Conference," the statement read. "In the best interests of everyone involved -- including coaches, student-athletes, game officials and Big East member institutions -- the officials who were assigned to the St. John's-Rutgers game Wednesday have voluntarily withdrawn for the remainder of The 2011 Big East Championship.

"With three days of competition remaining, it is our hope that everyone will now focus on our outstanding teams and the exciting games ahead."

Controversy clouded the Red Storm's 65-63 victory over Rutgers on Wednesday. With St. John's ahead by two points, the Storm's Justin Brownlee stole a pass as the final seconds ticked down and began celebrating before the clock ran out.

He took three steps after one dribble and went out of bounds with 1.7 seconds left. Then he tossed the ball into the crowd.

Had the officiating crew -- comprised of Jim Burr, Tim Higgins and Earl Walton -- whistled Brownlee for either traveling or stepping out of bounds, Rutgers would have regained possession with at least 1.7 seconds remaining.

Instead, St. John's advanced to Thursday's quarterfinal, where it lost to Syracuse, 79-73.

Big East commissioner John Marinatto released a statement Wednesday acknowledging that "two separate officiating errors occurred" on that play.

John Adams, the national coordinator of men's basketball said in a Wednesday interview with ESPN.com: "Not officiating to the end of a game is unacceptable.''

Adams said he will talk with Art Hyland, the Big East coordinator of officials, before determining if the trio should work the NCAA Tournament.

"We'll notify the guys sometime Sunday if they're working or not,'' Adams said. "One bad call doesn't knock a guy out of the NCAA Tournament.''

Burr was in attendance at Madison Square Garden Thursday, but a Big East official said he and other referees would not be available for comment.

SUBSCRIBE

Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 6 months

ACT NOWSALE ENDS SOON | CANCEL ANYTIME