Maryland Baltimore County coach Randy Monroe talks to an official...

Maryland Baltimore County coach Randy Monroe talks to an official as his team plays against Pittsburgh in the first half of a game. Credit: AP, 2008

In an abrupt and stunning move, Randy Monroe resigned as coach of UMBC mens basketball Wednesday. Top assistant Aki Thomas was named interim coach.

Monroe compiled a record of 85-160 in eight seasons has head coach at UMBC, including a trip to the NCAA Tournament in 2008. The Retrievers finished 24-9 that season and fell to Georgetown in a NCAA first-round game. But UMBC went just 4-26 last year and has won a total of 13 games the last three seasons.

“We appreciate all that Coach Monroe did for our basketball program and our community during his long tenure at UMBC,” UMBC athletic director Dr. Charles Brown said. “We wish him nothing but success in his future endeavors.”

The list below contains all Division I coaching moves made in the off season with the replacements in parentheses.

Air Force – Jeff Reynolds (Dave Pilipovich)
Binghamton – Mark Macon (Tommy Dempsey)
Brown – Jesse Agel (Mike Martin)
Canisius – Tom Parrotta (Jim Baron)
Central Michigan – Ernie Zeigler (Keno Davis)
College of Charleston – Bobby Cremins (Doug Wojcik)                               Connecticut - Jim Calhoun (Kevin Ollie)
Colorado State – Tim Miles (Larry Eustachy)
Duquesne – Ron Everhart (Jim Ferry)
Eastern Illinois – Mike Miller (Jay Spoonhour)
Florida International – Isiah Thomas (Richard Pitino)
Grambling State – Bobby Washington (Joseph Price)
Idaho State – Jim O’Brien (Bill Evans)
Illinois – Bruce Weber (John Groce)
Illinois State – Tim Jankovich (Dan Muller)
Kansas State – Frank Martin (Bruce Weber)
LIU – Jim Ferry (Jack Perri)
LSU – Trent Johnson (Johnny Jones)
Miami-Ohio – Charlie Coles (John Cooper)
Mississippi State – Rick Stansbury (Rick Ray)
Mississippi Valley State – Sean Woods (Chico Potts)
Mount St. Mary’s – Robert Burke (Jamion Christian)
Nebraska – Doc Sadler (Tim Miles)
North Carolina A&T – Jerry Eaves (Cy Alexander)
Northern Arizona – Mike Adras (Jack Murphy)
North Texas – Johnny Jones (Tony Benford)
Ohio – John Groce (Jim Christian)
Rhode Island – Jim Baron (Danny Hurley)
Rider – Tommy Dempsey (Kevin Baggett)
Samford – Jimmy Tillette (Bennie Seltzer)
SMU – Matt Doherty (Larry Brown)
South Carolina – Darrin Horn (Frank Martin)
Southern Illinois – Chris Lowery (Barry Hinson)
Southern Mississippi – Larry Eustachy (Donnie Tyndall)
Southern Utah – Roger Reid (Nick Robinson)
St. Francis (Pa) – Don Friday (Rob Krimmel)
TCU – Jim Christian (Trent Johnson)
Tennessee State – John Cooper (Travis Williams)
Texas Southern – Tony Harvey (Mike Davis)
Texas Tech – Billy Gillispie (Chris Walker, Interim)
Tulsa – Doug Wojcik (Danny Manning)
UAB – Mike Davis (Jarod Hasse)
UMBC – Randy Moore (Aki Thomas, Interim)
UNC Greensboro – Mike Dement (Wes Miller)
Virginia Tech – Seth Greenberg (James Johnson)
Wagner – Danny Hurley (Bashir Mason)
Western Kentucky – Ken McDonald (Ray Harper)
Winthrop – Randy Peele (Pat Kelsey)

Top Stories