Dez Bryant #88 of the Dallas Cowboys attempts a catch...

Dez Bryant #88 of the Dallas Cowboys attempts a catch over Sam Shields #37 of the Green Bay Packers during the 2015 NFC divisional playoff game at Lambeau Field on Jan. 11, 2015 in Green Bay, Wis. Initially ruled a catch, the call was reversed upon review. Credit: Getty Images / Mike McGinnis

Article 3, Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or end zone. If he loses control of the ball,

and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete.

If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

More football news

Newsday LogoCovering LI news as it happensDigital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months
ACT NOWSALE ENDS SOON | CANCEL ANYTIME