Red Bull driver Max Verstappen of the Netherlands crosses the...

Red Bull driver Max Verstappen of the Netherlands crosses the finish line to win the sprint event at the Red Bull Ring racetrack in Spielberg, Austria, Saturday, June 29, 2024. The Austrian Formula One Grand Prix will be held on Sunday. Credit: AP/Christian Bruna

LONDON — Miami and Austin, Texas, will keep their Formula 1 sprint races next year as Belgium gets a sprint instead of Austria.

The number of sprint races on the 24-event F1 calendar stays at six for the third year running.

The Circuit of the Americas at Austin and the Miami street circuit are joined by Belgium's Spa-Francorchamps track, which is the only 2025 sprint venue not hosting a sprint this year, although it did in 2023.

It will be the third year of a sprint race at Austin and the second at Miami.

The other three sprints for 2025 will be in Brazil for the fifth year running, as well as China and Qatar.

F1 shifted around its weekend schedule for this year to move the sprint race to earlier Saturdays, ahead of qualifying for the grand prix.

More motor racing


Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months