United States' Abby Wambach, left, and Hope Solo celebrate winning...

United States' Abby Wambach, left, and Hope Solo celebrate winning the the quarterfinal match between Brazil and the United States. (July 10, 2011) Credit: AP

ZURICH -- United States goalkeeper Hope Solo and forward Abby Wambach were nominated on Tuesday for the 2011 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award, competing with five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

Japan, the 2011 Women's World Cup winner, has Homare Sawa, the player of the tournament and top scorer in Germany, and Aya Miyama on the shortlist of 10 candidates.

U.S. forward Alex Morgan is the third member of the World Cup runner-up team to be nominated. France playmaker Louisa Necib also made the list chosen by FIFA officials and journalists selected by France Football magazine.

Marta, who helped the Western New York Flash win the Women's Professional Soccer title last season, is seeking to win the FIFA award for a sixth straight year. She is the only player selected from the Brazil squad eliminated by the U.S. in the World Cup quarterfinals.

Japan coach Norio Sasaki and the U.S. team's Swedish coach Pia Sundhage are among 10 candidates for the best coach of a women's team in 2011. Sasaki is one of seven men on the list.

Award organizers FIFA and France Football magazine will reveal the final three candidates on Dec. 5.

FIFA will announce the 10-candidate lists next Tuesday for the men's Golden Ball and best coach awards The winners will be announced Jan. 9 at the FIFA Gala in Zurich.

Voting is by national team coaches and captains plus selected journalists.

More women in sports


Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 5 months