In a sudden move Monday, George Washington mens basketball coach Karl Hobbs was relieved of his duties. Although the move was abrupt, it wasn't a surprise to some.

George Washington hired former America East commissioner Patrick Nero as its new athletic director last week. It's never been out of the realm for a newly hired athletic director to want to bring in his or her own person to coach.

Hobbs posted a 166-129 record in 10 years at George Washington and became the first coach to guide the Colonials to three straight NCAA Tournaments (2005-2007). But George Washington has struggled the last four seasons, posting just one winning season in the Atlantic 10. And that was this past season as the Colonials went 10-6 in the A-10. 

"The university determined that now is the time for new leadership of GW's men's basketball team. On behalf of the university, I thank Karl Hobbs for his dedicated service and the many successes he achieved during his tenure," said Senior Vice Provost and Senior Vice President Robert Chernak in a statement.

Hobbs had a year left on his current deal.

"It has been an honor to serve as head coach of the George Washington University's men's basketball team. I am proud of what we achieved here and am grateful to have had the chance to work with and guide the development and accomplishments of so many outstanding student-athletes. I thank the university, particularly President Trachtenberg and President Knapp, for its support and wish the Colonials great success in the future," said Hobbs.

The list below contains all NCAA coaching moves with successors bolded and in parenthesis.

Alabama A&M – Vann Pettaway
Alcorn State – Larry Smith (Luther Riley)
Arkansas – John Pelphrey (Mike Anderson)
Bradley – Jim Les (Geno Ford)
Cal State Bakersfield – Keith Brown (Rod Barnes)
Colgate – Emmett Davis
Dayton – Brian Gregory (Archie Miller)
Eastern Michigan – Charles Ramsey (Rob Murphy)
Eastern Washington – Kirk Earlywine (Jim Hayford)
Fairfield – Ed Cooley (Sydney Johnson)
Florida A&M – Eugene Harris
Florida Golf Coast – Dave Balza (Andy Enfield)
Fresno State – Steve Cleveland (Rodney Terry)
George Mason - Jim Larranaga
George Washington - Karl Hobbs
Georgia State – Rod Barnes (Ron Hunter)
Georgia Tech – Paul Hewitt (Brian Gregory)
Kennesaw State – Tony Ingle (Lewis Preston)
Lamar – Steve Roccaforte (Pat Knight)
Louisiana Tech – Kerry Rupp (Michael White)
Loyola (Chicago) – Jim Whitesell (Porter Moser)
Manhattan – Barry Rohrssen (Steve Masiello)
Miami - Frank Haith (Jim Larranaga)
Monmouth – Dave Calloway (King Rice)
North Carolina State – Sidney Lowe (Mark Gottfried)
North Illinois – Ricardo Patton (Mark Montgomery)
Oklahoma – Jeff Capel (Lon Kruger)
Pepperdine – Tom Asbury (Marty Wilson)
Providence – Keno Davis (Ed Cooley)
Tennessee – Bruce Pearl (Cuonzo Martin)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi – Perry Clark (Willis Wilson)
Texas Tech – Pat Knight (Billy Gillispie)
Towson – Pat Kennedy (Pat Skerry)
UC Davis – Gary Stewart
UNLV – Lon Kruger (Dave Rice)
Utah – Jim Boylen (Larry Krystowiak)
Wyoming – Heath Schroyer (Larry Shyatt)

Top Stories