Look for the competition committee to at least revisit the rules that govern receptions in the wake of yesterday's controversial play at the end of the Lions-Bears game. Calvin Johnson caught what might have been the winning touchdown late in the fourth quarter, but the play was ruled an incompletion after a lengthy review.

With 1:32 left in the fourth quarter and the Lions trailing, 19-14, Lions backup quarterback Shaun Hill threw a pass in the endzone to Johnson, who made a leaping catch. Johnson then fell to the ground, and in the process lost control of the ball when he put his hand down.

The official closest to the play called it a touchdown, but it was reversed and called incomplete. A lengthy replay review upheld the call.

"I figured I  got two feet and a knee down before I dropped the ball on the ground," Johnson said. "I didn't drop the ball, I caught it. But it is what it is. I'm not going to blame the referees. You've got to move on."

According to the strict interpretation of NFL Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1, the play was ruled correctly. Here's the way the rule reads: Going to the ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Now the question is whether the rule needs to be tweaked. My sense is the competition committee will take a good, long look at it, but that there may not be a revision to the rule because of the can of worms that might open.

"It will certainly be discussed, but I think the issue is how do you write the rule?" said Giants president John Mara, a member of the competition committee. "Now, you have to control the ball after you hit the ground. Where would we redraw the line to make it easier to officiate?"

It is indeed a complicated issue that is not easily fixed. But here's one more thing to keep in mind about this play in particular: Johnson admitted afterward that he didn't know the rule, and therefore didn't realize his actions would lead to an incompletion call.

Bottom line: He should have absolutely known the rule, and if he had, he might have maneuvered his body differently in an effort to retain possession.

Lions coach Jim Schwartz wouldn't complain about the play afterward, because he felt that the enforcement of the rule was indeed correct.

Watch the play here and decide for yourself:

 

SUBSCRIBE

Unlimited Digital AccessOnly 25¢for 6 months

ACT NOWSALE ENDS SOON | CANCEL ANYTIME